A Journal of Poetry / Windows Live Survivor

Grandma

3059568qkzpszxf7z.gif

Grandma

Looking out through misty windows
Brings back memories of yesteryear
I’m thinking of memories I’d once hid
I’m remembering Grandma and where she once stood

I’m the heir to Grandma’s hope chest
It’s not just a piece of furniture to me
It’s a lifetime of her most treasured items
Now handed down to share

Touching items from her jewellery box
Handed down and now mine
Looking at the gems she once held dear
I’ll wear the jewels once belonging her

I’ll treasure everything she left
Grandma I’ll always love you
I’ll remember all the special times
You’ll never ever be forgotten

 

Grandpop

You’re a real gentleman
As sprightly as you’d get
You’re as deaf as a post
Never hearing the spinning wheels outside

You’ve been the driving force to succeed
I still ride every ride to win
I’ve kept my eye on the goal
You’ve supported my every trip

You’d take the wheel when needed
You’d steer me in the right direction
You’d drive along the road with me
Helping me to map out my direction

Grandpop you’ve done it all with a cheeky smile
That grinned from ear to ear
You’d always had me laughing until I was rolling on the floor
Thanks for making my journey feel complete

 

1005260834041020576107759

5 responses

  1. This poem touched me dear Jude.. a lump very large within my throat.. Our Grandparents are special, and this brought some special memories back to me my friend..
    Just so beautiful
    Love and Blessings to you dear Jude.. xxx ❤ Sue

    August 12, 2017 at 3:38 am

    • Love and light to you dear Sue x

      August 12, 2017 at 4:50 pm

      • ❤ and right back at you xx ❤

        August 12, 2017 at 6:11 pm

  2. Beautiful

    August 2, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    • Thanks Marko x

      August 12, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

