A Journal of Poetry / Windows Live Survivor

Family Dedications ( Part One )

Written by Lady Jude

My son Carl


As the stars come out each night

On never ending cold nights

Before I lay down to sleep

I’ve got my friends company


Nightly I snuggle into my little teddy’s potbelly

Before I drift soundly off to sleep

Feeling comforted knowing Teddy’s guarding me

He remains loyal by my side


Kitty the cat sleeps at the end of the bed

Making the darkness of the night less scary

I’ve my two best friends protecting me

From the scary bogey man


When morning light first shines through my windows

The dark shadows of the night begin to hide

Teddy and Kitty have been my faithful loyal guards

You could never wish for two better friends

Photobucket

Lucky


He arrived with a sadness in his heart

A wee unwanted terrier dog

No one had come to claim him at the dog pound

They were ready to have him put down


So we made a claim and named him Lucky

Because he came so close to his own death

We nursed his sad broken spirit

Quickly Lucky became our faithful companion


In time we all received his cold nose kisses

Being faithful, loyal and loving unconditionally

He was the best dog our family knew

Lucky you were a champion


My Mother


When the skies go grey

When I go through pain and turmoil

Whenever I needed a shoulder to cry on

You’ve always been a willing listener


A place to shelter from life’s storms

Whatever the daily weather

You always made my sunshine again

With an understanding chat


Your doors always open

To teach and to guide

Making my journey less complicated

Your warmth continues to enlighten my life


I’ll always find my way back home

Knowing your warm smile awaits me

There’s no other love like your love

Mother your the best


Simply the best


You made your life loving us

With gentle eyes that mirrored your soul

You’d only see the best in everyone

And you were loved my us all


You never hid behind a mask

Honesty was your quiet demure

Your door was always open

To whoever needed you


You brought sunshine into my life

Making sunlight warm my days

Whenever I needed you

You were always there


By lending an understanding ear

You’d chase away my blues

It’s all the caring advice you give

I’ve always listened to every word


When you hold me safe within your arms

I feel on top of the world

Giving us all your love unconditionally

Dad your simply the best father ever


Copyright Lady Jude 2009


13 responses

  1. Very touching poems and a very wonderful tribute to your family. Thanks for sharing us dear Lady Jude. Take care always …Love~connie

    November 25, 2010 at 11:50 am

  2. great written Lady jude.
    you’re too kind (f)
    wish you a happy time my dear friend.
    love,always,shiva xxxxx

    November 22, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  3. How touching Lady Jude, a loving family is a wonderful gift, and something money can’t buy, what a beautiful tribute to them and to include a dearly loved pet shows a tender heart, thank you for sharing this.

    November 22, 2010 at 11:21 am

  4. Beautiful. There is nothing more precious than those memories on which on remembrance make the heart glow with warmth. Hope u had a Wonderful Weekend, Luv PF XXX

    November 22, 2010 at 9:09 am

  5. SethPopowich

    We love our pets, they are an extension of our family and they add so much richness to our lives. Their only faults, is that they have such short life spans.

    November 19, 2010 at 6:51 am

  6. SethPopowich

    My family has the power to cause me the most hurt and worries (which is not often thank goodness), but they are also the source of my greatest joys. They have taught me more that I thought there was to learn. My life would lack much of its meaning without my kids, my brothers, my nephews, my Father and my loving Mother who is sadly missed.
    What a sincere and touching dedication to these chosen family members of yours. It’s always nice to feel appreciated and it’s even nicer when someone tells you how much you mean to them. Kudos to you Lady Jude, wonderfully written from the heart.

    November 19, 2010 at 6:47 am

  7. Chantal Tytof

    wonderful written, my dear Judy, great happiness for me to read you, many kissessss

    November 19, 2010 at 2:31 am

  8. Wonderful memories.. What better way to pay tribute to such family love, than to immortalise these words in poetry.. treasures to keep…. And thank you for sharing them here with all of us.. Dreamwalker x

    November 18, 2010 at 11:48 pm

  9. Emotion claims you from start to finish… and of course the memory of Lucky will stay with me. A wonderful collection of Poems, my dear friend, they tug at the heart strings.
    Loving the Music too… xPenx

    November 18, 2010 at 11:19 pm

  10. These are beautiful Lady Jude
    Take care
    Sue

    November 18, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  11. cat

    Beautiful and true…thank you, ma sista…love, always,c.

    November 18, 2010 at 4:48 pm

  12. Beautiful tributes for your family.

    November 18, 2010 at 2:16 pm

  13. A beautiful collection of emotions and memories Lady Jude , from the little girl to your son and Dad and your mate Lucky , enjoyable to read and I can see quite clearly the heart of the writer behind the words
    Hugs
    Ian aka Emu

    November 18, 2010 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

