A Journal of Poetry / Windows Live Survivor

The Promise

2708243w1siq4qo1u

Written by Lady Jude

The Promise


I cannot promise thee, a lifetime of sunshine

However I can promise thee, a shelter to protect you


I cannot promise thee, an easy pathway

However I can promise thee, you shall never walk alone


I cannot promise thee, we won’t weather storms

However I can promise thee, well share the umbrella


I cannot promise thee, a sheltered life

However I can promise thee, my heart will always shelter thee from the cold


I cannot promise thee, a lifetime without uphill battles

However I can promise thee, to be our shield in all that we may battle


I cannot promise thee, wealth or gold

However I can promise thee, faith, hope and love


I cannot promise thee, our life won’t be touched by heartache

However I can promise thee, I will always love thee


I cannot promise thee, a road paved in gold

However I can promise thee, I’ll always have a heart of gold


Copyright Lady Jude 2007

1005260834041020576107759

7 responses

  1. hello,thanks for your comment my dear friend…love your blog…wish you a great time…love,shiva xxxx

    October 26, 2010 at 11:52 am

  2. CatsRuS

    Hi, I can see your background and graphics now. Before when I went to your site, there were boxes with little x’s or something in the top left corner. I clicked on the box and the background and graphics showed. Must have been a glitch, but it’s all good now. 🙂

    October 19, 2010 at 1:23 pm

  3. Every Promise holds our hearts best.. and means the most within the lovers nest..

    I hope your Promises will always be kept and cherished
    Loved your words… xx

    October 18, 2010 at 9:44 pm

  4. It’s all still there the pictures I can see them.

    October 18, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  5. I don’t know why, but I can’t see any of your pictures or background, but I can see your poetry. You’re page is just looking plain black to me.
    hugs x

    October 18, 2010 at 1:47 pm

  6. Absolutely beautiful!!
    Hugs,
    Beth

    October 15, 2010 at 7:54 am

  7. Some say promises are made to be broken…but I disagree, just like a lovers kiss, a promise is a gift from the heart.
    Lovely Poem, Lady Jude, xPenx

    October 15, 2010 at 2:09 am

Leave a Reply

